You are here

Michael Shinagel Award for Alumni Excellence

The Michael Shinagel Award for Alumni Excellence was established in 2014 to mark Michael Shinagel's retirement as Dean of Harvard Extension School after 38 years. Its purpose is to recognize an alumnus or alumna of Harvard Extension School who has made a significant contribution to alumni of HES, and to their wider community outside of the school. Special consideration is given to activity at the grassroots level, as it best illustrates the broad impact that a single individual can have by inspiring creative social change across communities.

The Michael Shinagel Award for Alumni Excellence winner receives an official award, and a certificate for a free Harvard Extension School course which the winner can give to a friend or family member. The presentation will be made at the Annual Commencement Banquet in Annenberg Hall two days before Commencement. The winner will receive two complimentary tickets to the dinner, as well as dorm housing in Harvard Yard for the night of the banquet.

All Harvard Extension School alumni are eligible for nomination for the Michael Shinagel Award for Alumni Excellence.

Nominations should include:

1. A nomination letter outlining the contributions made by the nominee to the alumni community and to his or her wider community. Additional supporting documents may be attached.

2. A list of at least three professional or personal references​ submitted with the nomination letter​.

3. One supporting letter of endorsement from a fellow Harvard Extension School (or Harvard University) alum emailed separately. 

Nominations and supporting materials should be submitted by email to by 11:59pm on May 1st, 2017. The winner will be notified by May 8, 2017.

Past award winners:

2014 - Kenneth Brady ABE ’74

2015 - Ann Warner-Harvey CSS '01

2016 - Carlos De La Rosa ALM  '08

2017 - Ruth I. Gove ABE '67